Privacy Policy

Plus (Extension and mobile) never shows ads. Both are open-source which means you can see the full code in GitHub or the chrome debugger.

The Chrome extension and mobile app run only in your device without servers other than Trello itself. Your data is only stored in your device (and your Google Drive if you enabled it). None of your data is sent anywhere else or shared with anyone.

For the mobile Plus for Trello policy see here.

Permissions for the Chrome extension are configured to the minimum possible so you can be sure that it only accesses the data it needs and no more, and that the data is not sent anywhere unexpected. These permissions are controlled by Chrome.

When Plus requests more permissions, Chrome will always ask you to accept or deny the permission (Plus requests additional permissions when you use one of the "Google sync" methods or enable "Pro" features.)

The initial permissions when you add the extension are:

"Read and change you data on,"
If you also enable one of the "Google sync" methods, the list will include "". If "Pro" is enabled, additional permissions listed here are needed.

You can verify these permissions by finding Plus in your extensions list:
On your browser, click menu 
Select More tools > Extensions
Find "Plus for Trello" and click "Details".
See more about Chrome permissions.

How Plus uses and secures your data

Plus does not collect any data about you (not even your email) or Trello data anywhere outside your Chrome browser storage (or the legacy "Google sync" spreadsheet if you enabled it). For "Google sync", the spreadsheet is created in your Google Drive with permissions only to you as owner. Plus cannot read your spreadsheet outside of your browser and cannot read, write or list any other Drive file.

Plus reads from API and web pages to insert itself in the right places and sync with Chrome or the mobile app, reads API data from boards you joined, their lists and cards, and writes data to Trello as card comments (and card titles if enabled). These all happens while you have a Trello page open.

If you also enable "background sync", it will read from Trello while Chrome is open, even if you have not opened a Trello tab.

Plus uses to read news from the Google+ page of Plus and display them in the Plus header "new!" icon to notify users whenever there are new features posted on the Google+ page. This same domain is also used when you enable one of the "Google Sync" methods and click the "Create Google Spreadsheet" button.

If you enable the "Pro" version, Plus will also send anonymous statistical data to Google Analytics so we know which are the popular features to improve.

Security of your data

All the Plus data is inside a Chrome web sql database, chrome storage (local and sync) and localStorage.
Chrome manages web sql with a super-fast and incorruptible sqLite database (a Chrome feature).

Plus provides a "Reset Sync" button in case you ever need to rebuild all the data from scratch. Because S/E is saved inside Trello (or in a Google spreadsheet for those using "Google sync") Plus can remove all the data it saved in your device during reset, followed by a full sync. This will work even if your hard-disk fails and is replaced by a new one, or if you add Plus to a different computer.

If you are using "Chrome sign-in" (highly recommended), Plus preferences and active timers are stored in chrome "sync" storage which means those are also backed-up by Google and available in any other device where you sign-in to Chrome.

If you are not signed-into Chrome you can still sync your Trello data and S/E in other devices but active running timers will not sync across devices. Thus you would need to stop the timer from the same device where you started it.

Remove your data

When you logout of Trello, Plus will still have a local, cached copy of your data and you can continue running reports, burn-downs and the Chrome Plus menu.
If you wish to remove all your data, follow these two steps from Plus help:

  1. Under "Sync", set disabled sync.
  2. Under "Utilities", click "Reset sync".
now Plus will remove all local data in your machine as well as "chrome sync" storage (which stores your preferences and your active running timers.)

Data saved

Plus only saves data in your Chrome browser local/sync storage, on Trello itself (as card comments), and on the sync spreadsheet for legacy or "stealth sync" users. Plus saves the following data inside your Chrome browser:
  • S/E history rows, board, list and card information.
  • Active Timers.
  • card 'draft s/e'.
  • Preferences.
Some of these settings, like active timers and preferences are saved on chrome "sync" storage, which means it is also stored in Google Chrome sync servers if you are signed into Chrome. If you wish, you can enable encryption of these data in Google servers using your own passphrase (thus Google itself of wont be able to read it.)

Network usage

Plus reads from so it uses some of your network bandwidth. This usage is typically very small as it only reads or writes in text format. During the "first sync" with Trello, Plus will use more bandwidth as it reads all your boards history. That history size is proportional to how many cards, card comments and card movements there are in joined boards.

A "first sync" with hundreds of boards and many thousands of history entries typically takes under 2 minutes to sync on a good internet connection.

After that, all further syncs are almost immediate and consume negligible bandwidth. The only case when Plus could again take a little to finish sync is when you become a member of a board with extensive existing history.

Open Source

The latest source code is always at github for your inspection. You can also inspect the code directly from the chrome debugger. Its unminimized and with full comments.

For "Google sync" users only (legacy and stealth modes)

If you select "Google sync", Chrome asks you to approve additional permissions for Google spreadsheets. Plus reads and writes to to sync with the Google spreadsheet. Chrome will ask you to approve that Google permission the first time you set it up.

Note that Plus never asks or saves your Google password. Plus uses the latest industry-standard oauth2 protocol built-in in Chrome identity. You enter your Google password in a separate Chrome page when you sign-in to Chrome.

Plus also asks additional Google permissions if you click the "create Google spreadsheet" button so it can create the spreadsheet in your Google Drive. Those permissions only give access to the single Google Drive spreadsheet file created by Plus (scope ""). The permission (an oauth2 token, not a password) is remembered by Chrome.identity (not Plus) until you revoke access.
For more details see Authorizing requests to a spreadsheet and Creating a spreadsheet in Drive.

View or revoke your approved Google spreadsheet/drive file permissions under 
"Plus for Trello" in the Google account security page

Turning on and off the extension

Manage the extension using the Google Chrome extensions help.